/* */

Tuesday, May 31, 2005

Burrito!

One accomplishment so far this year: I finished my stint volunteering for Junior Achievement. It was fun and I am very fortunate to have gotten a group of good kids. (Strange calling them kids when I still don't really feel like an "adult" most of the time.)

My parents insisted on my brother and I going with them on a day trip over the long weekend, so because of that and a few other things I didn't get much rest at all. :( The day trip turned out to be a drive, a hike, a return hike (the invention of the "turn-around-and-backtrack" hike sucks,) and a final drive back home. It was tiring, but not too shabby. I don't go anywhere with my parents anymore so I guess this one was due.

Funniest thing that occurred on the trip: Before heading towards our destination, my parents stopped by a supermarket to purchase some "sandwiches" for lunch. My brother and I stayed in the car and slept. My parents return and we drive off to our hike. Later that day, we stop for lunch and we're sitting on this log, my dad opens up the bag and passes out our "sandwiches". I took one look at it and thought it to be a joke. In my hand, was a well made, exquisitely packaged, gourmet, microwaveable burrito. We're out in the deepest of nature's non-electric, non-microwaving embrace and my lunch is a cold burrito with heating instructions on it?? Insult to injury!

That's my dad, he does things like that. My mom says that she didn't have her glasses on so she couldn't see exactly what my dad was buying. She said she asked him if those were sandwiches and he said "yes". And no, if you're wondering, I didn't eat the cold burrito. We watched my dad eat his burrito (apparently, he's had this before and liked it,) then I got up and hiked doubletime back past the car, to the general store and bought nachos. I had arrived back to the starting point about half and hour before my parents. Don't get in between me and my food. :)

Monday, May 23, 2005

What a feeling

Ugh. Physically I've just been under the weather for the past week or so. I've been drinking fluids, getting as much rest as possible and taking vitamin supplements. And now the weather is getting hot. I find myself living in a constant state of discomfort. I despise summers here.

I managed to go see Episode 3 over the weekend. It was an entertaining movie. That's all you can really ask out of it, people would be mistaken to expect any kind of celluloid masterpiece. As far as this topic goes, that's all I have to say about it. If you haven't seen it and are on the fence, definitely go see it. It's not going to amaze you, but it will give you a lot of spiffy lightsaber fights.

Next up on my weekend repertoire of passive entertainment is the NBA Western Conference Finals. I was actually disappointed in the Spur's defense. I am not surprised that the Suns lost the game, throughout the regular season I had always known that the Suns style of playing wouldn't win in the postseason against a good defensive team. But what I didn't guess was that the Spurs' defense would let the Suns score over 100 and their offense could outplay the Suns at their own game. Either way, the Spurs move on. Oh and I think it will be Detroit over Miami.

I tried out a Wacom tablet last week, that is to say, I bought it and returned it. Intuos 3 6x8. Very nice, but quite awkward at the same time. I did start to get used to it after a day or two but ultimately I decided that I'm already quite adept with a mouse and I don't use photoshop often enough to really put that tablet to good use. Well, maybe later on when I have less things I need to pay for / want to buy I'll repurchase it. It is really a neat toy. I just didn't see it immediately revolutionize my photoshop work. I guess I was expecting a bit too much but all the reviews state something along the lines of: "I can never use photoshop with a tablet again." or "you are only using 50% of photoshop's power without a tablet." Oh well.

So this week I'm just going to try to recover from whatever god forsaken illness has befallen me. And look forward to the long weekend coming.

Monday, May 16, 2005

Thoughts postponed

I'm a bit tired this morning, still trying to recover from the weekend so there is no new posting for this week. If I get a chance before next week I'll update this with something.

Monday, May 09, 2005

Weekend of Family

I spent a lot of time this weekend with my family. Not really planned that way (who knew yesterday was going to be Mother's Day? Well... not me...) hehe. But in any case, I ended up spending some time on both Saturday and Sunday at home. Most of the time when I'm at my parent's place we just sit, drink tea and talk.

I find it kind of amazing that we seem to never run out of things or memories to talk about. Though my brother also joins us and we talk about him and his near future. He is lucky in this way though that when I was his age I never got to participate in these kinds of things. I mean, talking with our parents about non-parent-child matters.

I say that because I'm amused by how interesting I find it to be to chat with my parents now. When I was younger, I never, ever thought about spending any more time talking with my parents than I had to. In fact, I don't think we ever talked much about anything other than what we had to, like school related things.

So I think my brother is lucky, he gets to interact with our parents as people early on. To me, they were just authority figures. But I am happy I am getting this opportunity now, I think it would be very sad to go through my whole life without ever had gotten to know my parents in this more meaningful way. Plus, they're hilarious people. :)

Monday, May 02, 2005

Friends

I was visted by an old and dear friend recently. We had a lot of good times, mostly just talking since we haven't gotten to see each other in a very long time. We spent time eating and talking. Discussing things like days gone by, human nature, and things yet to come. It is interesting to see how little things really change over time, and great to see that time and distance doesn't break apart good friendships.

I think over the course of our conversations, we discovered that males and females really are, quite different. In respect to thinking, perceptions, actions and reactions. That's okay though, since that's what makes life so interseting I guess.

Though... whatever my set of talents are, my interactions with women is not among them. All I seem capable of is making new mistakes (so I never get a chance to put into use what i've learned from previous ones.) I may just be single forever. Though, as I was telling my friend, that prospect doesn't really scare me too much right now. The downside of being single is sometimes you get lonely, but the upside is that you can do what you want all the time. But I suppose this is just a phase as well, I've been through phases where I lament my dismal, singular, state. So I suppose this newfound alacrity for bachelorhood is just a phase of a different sort. So this is why people drink and take drugs... to get some semblance of consistancy in their lives! :)