/* */

Monday, January 30, 2006

Lefty?

So to my collection of defenses and excuses, for if I ever snap and become a serial killer, I can now add a healthy dose of childhood abuse and trauma. I found out over the weekend that as a child I was naturally left handed, but it was beaten out of me. Apparently, it's a bad thing to be left handed in the asian culture. It's kind of a strange thing to hear, I mean, it's something that you live with everyday of your life (having and using a dominant hand.) I just have to wonder how things would have turned out if I was allowed to be left handed. On the surface that might seem like a very insignificant change, but you never know. In any case, that's my shocking news of the new year. (Happy new year everyone.)

Sunday, January 22, 2006

EIGHTY ONE

I can barely believe it. Eighty-one. Eighty-one!! I've always been a Laker's fan and a fan of Kobe Bryant, but I never, ever thought I would see a stat line like this one tonight. 81 points on 28-46 shooting. That is just mind boggling. Kobe made history tonight and I am happy to be alive to see it. The Lakers, much to my chagrin, are not a good team, but the fact that they are in the playoff race at all right now is all due to number 8. There should be zero doubt of that in anyone's mind anymore.

Everyone should make a note of this day and his name because someday in the future your children will come to you and say "Mommy/Daddy, who's Kobe Bryant?" and you'll have to tell them that he was the Laker who scored 81 points in 2006.

Easily the best player in the NBA today.

Monday, January 16, 2006

Returned

So I haven't posted anything in rather a while. I hope everyone enjoyed their holidays, spent time with loved ones and ate much good food.

Now here are some random thoughts...

[ Sports ]
I love watching Kobe Bryant and the Lakers play. Sure, he takes a god awful lot of shots but he makes each one entertaining, and I'll be damned if he doesn't actually have a good chance of hitting a shot from anywhere on the floor. And his killer instinct to win games... unbelievable. The NBA's current golden-boy, Lebron James went head to head with Kobe and ended up on his behind (literally,) when the game was on the line. Kobe hit 3 straight 18 foot jumpers from the wing (and guarded Lebron the whole game,) while Lebron couldn't hit the clutch free throws or make the final shot. The next game at the Warriors, he made a repeat performance, hitting every shot at the end of the game when the Lakers needed them to win. The Lakers might not have a great team this year but they sure are entertaining to watch.

And the NFL playoffs! My god, the Colts really dissapointed me. They were given every opportunity to win and simply didn't want it. I like the Colts but I must say they simply didn't deserve it. It's such a tragic end too. With the Colts out and the Patriots out, I really don't have a team to root for anymore in the playoffs.

UCLA dropping the game to Washington was a heartbreaker, but the more important thing is how the team is playing while so much of the roster is hurt. They have a lot of heart, even if it is broken right now. And because of that, I feel we're going to be just fine in the long run.

[ Gaming ]
In World of Warcraft, I finally hit level 40 and got a horse. I finally don't have to run around everywhere on my own two feet!

[ TV ]
I'm estatic that Scrubs season 5 has started. The first 3 episodes were kind of off.. they didn't have the normal Scrubs 'vibe'. Luckily the 4th has recovered from that and so I hope the episodes from here on out will be back into the groove of greatness that is Scrubs.

[ Life ]
Sometimes I feel that I really do need a woman in my life. I have these great ideas and sometimes I just fumble the execution. Case in point, one of my rugs in the bathroom needed replacing so I went to get a new one, but I didn't want to just replace one, I wanted to buy a set so my bathroom looked put together instead of a patchwork of pieces. So I bought 3 items and went home. I misjudged the size of the various things I was replacing, so I went back to the store the next day to make an exchange. I got home and found out I had did it again. Third time was indeed, a charm, but it's things like this that make me realize that if I had a girlfriend, I'm sure she'd not only accentuate my ideas with those of her own but also on the more practical front, keep me from having to drive to the mall 3 times and having to explain to the clerks what a bonehead I am. In the end though, I am very happy with the result, I just could have done without the run-about(-town).

I hate waiting for schools to respond. It's got to be the worst part of the whole process. They need to take a page out of the credit card universe and have instant approval, over the phone. Or something. Okay, I'm just complaining now... it's time to stop. :)

Tuesday, January 03, 2006

Congratluations are in order...

Congratluations to my dear friend Katharine who was engaged over the holidays! The single men of the world weep as her name is crossed off the general list.

Congratulations also to this new year arriving. Hopefully the rest of us have wonderful years of our own!


edit:
Awesome billboard idea:
http://www.onepeat.com/

- to clarify, USC didn't even play in the national championship game in 2003, they claim a 'co-championship' due to being #1 in the AP (media) poll. LSU played in and won the national championship game. (detail)
They won in 2004 and their 2 heisman trophy winners lost to Vince Young in 2005. So grand total of national championships in their '3-peat' bid? Just 1.